Adventures in Travel

Almost a year ago, Jon began working for a finance company based in New York. He works from HIS home office with occasional trips to THE home office. He is very, very good at working from home, with impressive discipline and structure to make it all work very smoothly. I am very, very good at tagging along when he needs to be in New York. And last week, that’s just what I did.

Jon spent the week working from the company’s office in New York. I was fortunate to be able to work remotely for the week and join him. New York City is one of my very favorite places. Prior to his current job, Jon hadn’t spent much time in the city. Over the last year, we have had so much fun exploring. I’ve been able to show him some of my favorite, tried-and-true spots, and we’ve also found some places new to both of us.

My flight got in a bit earlier than his on Monday, as his travel was scheduled through his office. I spent the afternoon wandering around. I had a late lunch at a restaurant in Chelsea, just under the High Line, called Bubby’s. I had never been but really enjoyed it. Their avocado toast was my favorite (the goat cheese and basil were a really lovely addition). I walked back through Chelsea Market and then up 8th Avenue to Midtown, to our hotel.

When Jon arrived, we went to dinner at a place he had been before called Tacombi. There are several locations throughout the city, but we ate at the one in the Empire State Building. The tacos we had were very good, and the place had a great atmosphere.

From there, we walked to Max Brenner’s in Union Square, at the recommendation of my cousin, Polley. The food there didn’t look great, but that’s not the thing for which they’re known. The chocolate and dessert menu is extensive! It took us a while to make a decision, but we ended up sharing a s’mores sundae. It was truly one of the best desserts I’ve ever had. It doesn’t hurt that s’mores are a favorite of mine.

On Tuesday, I worked from the hotel room for a bit before getting out to walk around. I ended up in Bryant Park, which was only a few blocks from our hotel, and discovered their holiday market. The market had just opened the week before we arrived and lasts through December.

The park is filled with rows of small glass buildings in which vendors are selling all sorts of things – Christmas ornaments, candles, handmade soaps and lotions, jewelry, scarves, hot chocolate, crepes, and much more. In the center of the park, there is a skating rink. (Usually not there, but installed for the two months of the market.) If you’re in New York this time of year, I highly recommend the Bryant Park Holiday Market! I picked up a couple of Christmas gifts and an ornament for us!

From there, I walked up 5th Avenue to the Plaza and then stopped by Bloomingdales before heading back to the hotel to do a bit more work and wait for Jon.

That evening, we went to John’s of Bleecker Street in the Village for pizza. It was absolutely delicious! Jon, a pizza connoisseur, declared it the best pizza he’s had. Our dessert for the evening was an ice cream flight from Ample Hills Creamery. All the flavors were so good – it was too difficult to choose a favorite!

I started Wednesday morning with a walk to Sullivan Street Bakery. I had never been, but I’d read many wonderful reviews. And they weren’t wrong. It’s definitely out of the way, but well worth the 15 minute walk from our hotel.

Later that day, I took the train to SoHo and wandered around for a bit.

Jon found tickets, via Today Tix, for My Fair Lady at Lincoln Center! The app is new-ish, or new to us, and we were a bit worried about whether it was legitimate. But we couldn’t have had a better experience. The Today Tix “concierge” met us at the door with our tickets, and our seats were AWESOME! The stadium seating is in a half-circle around the stage. We were in the section just over from the middle, eight rows up.

The show was just incredible! The music and performances were wonderful! Henry Higgins was played by this guy, from Downton Abbey and The Crown. Jon and I were FLOORED when we realized that Eliza’s dad was played by this guy, better known to us as KEVIN RAYBURN. If you’ve watched Bloodline, I’m sure you share our shock that Kevin was played by an acclaimed musical theater actor and two-time Tony winner!

On Thursday morning, I ran a couple of errands, including a stop at Levain Bakery for my very favorite chocolate chip cookie. And trust me, that’s saying something. I love all chocolate chip cookies.

It doesn’t matter what time of year I’m in New York or how long I’m there, I always love it. There is always something to do and something to see. A few years ago, I visited in the summer and went to “Broadway in Bryant” at Bryant Park. The casts of several Broadway shows perform a couple of songs each during lunchtime. I kept thinking of that while at the market in Bryant Park on this trip. In the exact same place, the experience was vastly different – both equally fun and unique and just right for the season. I feel that way about the city as a whole. Each visit is unique and has its own charm and appeal, specific to just that time and place.

I’m already dreaming of my next trip!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started